RSS

Time to make a fatty.

11 Mar

Time to make the fatty. No I’m not talking about increasing my ever growing girth. I’m talking about what has quite possibly became my favorite weekend morning breakfast. The fatty in it’s simplest form

 is basically bulk sausage rolled in rub, tossed on to a grill or smoker and smoked to an internal temperature of 160f. Then it’s usually sliced and served on some sort of bread.  This morning were going with homemade buttermilk biscuits.

I would normally use the UDS (Ugly Drum Smoker for this) but keeping true to my word I’m going to do it on my Webber kettle grill to show, anybody with any type of grill, can do this.

Since I’m using a spicy sausage, I’ll use a nice sweet rub to soften the strong flavor of the sausage, and smoke.

I begin by lighting my coals in a chimney starter.

Now while the coals are taking light, I prep the fatty.

First and probably the only slightly challenging part of this cook, is taking the sausage out of the package without losing it’s form. I have found it’s best just to use a pair of scissors to cut the end off, then cut down one side and “peel” the wrapping back.

Nest gently roll the sausage in the rub you have spread out on your work surface, being sure to stand it up on the ends to coat them too.

Now it’s off to the grill where it will gently smoke for about an hour, more or less.

Once it comes off the your grill/smoker then let it rest for about 10 minutes to allow the juices to recede back into the meat to keep it moist.

All  now that’s is left  is the slicing and serving.  Since we all already have a warm grill, we  can place our cheese covered fatties, and biscuit halves back on the grill, for one last hit of smoke while we melt the cheese.

You won’t get this at any fast food joint.

If you try this let me know how it goes.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Time to make a fatty.

Leave a Reply

 
