RSS

The magic of pork loin.

15 Mar
The magic of pork loin.

If you’re anything like me, you can’t afford to just be throwing money away, and a little savings can go A LONG ways. I have found one of the best places to save money is in my kitchen. Just a few simple steps can save you a nice chunk of money, produce some very nice meals, and you get to have a little fun along the way.

Now we’re going to look at one of my favorite cuts of meat. The pork loin. First don’t confuse this with the much more expensive cut, the pork TENDER loin. When handled correctly, the doors of BBQ and grilling can swing wide open, and you’re only limited by your imagination. You will be able to use these for things such as: stuffed pork loins, pork tacos/burritos, stuffed pork chops, BBQ pork chops, pork kabobs, the list is practically endless.

For the two loins I bought this morning on SALE at over 50% off, we’re going to simply cut them into chops. The first loin I’m going to cut into thin chops, about 1″ for basic grilling and quick dinners on nice evenings. The other will be cut into thicker, 2″ chops, more suited for longer cooks, stuffing, and smoking.

I will begin by rinsing the loins under cold running water and then drying them off with a couple of paper towels.

Then for the first one I will measure out 1 inch cuts with a ruler and score the loin. Remember to wash whatever ruler you’re going to be using, BEFORE you use it. If you’re like me, you have no idea who used it to scratch what. And you don’t want to know.

Now it’s just a matter of slicing it into chops. Simple, however keep in mind you’re not cutting timber, be gentile with it. Let the knife do the work. Personally I prefer to cut only by drawing the knife toward me, I get less tear on the meat than I do with a “back and forth” sawing motion.

Here’s the 1″ chops  cut and ready to be wrapped and put in the ol’ freezer. Next I used the same method for the 2″ chops. As you can see this made some very nice pork chops. I often call these “Company is coming” chops. These are the ones we’ll break out for special occasions, and those nice slow smokes. They can all so be cubed and used for kabobs.

That’s all there is to it. Now just toss them in a bag, label it, and freeze.  For just about $30.00, I was able to get a total of 32 pork chops. 32 VERY NICE, top end, boneless, pork chops. Trust me these will be far superior to the ones you find in the meat counter. Now on those nice days, a quick phone call home, to tell the kids, “set out a few chops” and you’re grilling dinner, with a cold glass of your favorite beverage by your side and the hassles and worries of the day gently fade with the setting sun.

This should be your final product on a warm spring evening in March.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
