RSS

Habanero Bombs

24 Nov
Habanero Bombs

This is NOT for the weak! If you consider yourself a chili head then I highly recommend this.

Sometimes it amazes me how my mind works. The other day I had a picture of some habaneros as my wall paper at work, and thought to myself, “those look like little bombs”. For sometime my wing man and I have been trying to figure out how to grill stuffed habaneros, cooking the insides while NOT burning the outsides. Like a bolt of lightening the answer came to me: REVERSE the stuffed pepper!!! So we did just that and may I just say WOW!!!

mms_picture (24)

What You’ll need:

14 habaneros

4 oz of cream cheese

1 1/4 – 1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

3 scallions (green onions) finely minced

2 cloves garlic (finely minced)

2lbs 80/20 ground beef

6 tsp steak sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

How to do it:

Begin by mixing the  cream cheese, shredded cheddar cheese, scallions, and  garlic in a bowl until very well combined. Salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

Remove the tops and seed pods from the habaneros.

Using a spatula or “butter” knife place filling into the peppers, being sure to pack it down as much as possible.

mms_picture (26) mms_picture (27)

Now set those aside, and mix your steak sauce into your ground beef.

mms_picture (19)

Take your mixed beef and make a small ball slightly larger than the habanero you’re going to wrap it around

mms_picture (15)

Then flatten it in your hands like a small hamburger patty, gently wrap around the pepper, and roll into a “meat ball”.

mms_picture (29) mms_picture (30)

mms_picture (31)

Once you have your little “bombs” made, place them in the refrigerator, and set your grill up for indirect grilling.

Place them on the grill with a little hickory smoke. Cook time is going to take about 20 minutes.

mms_picture (16)

When done simply remove from the grill, let rest 10 minutes, and serve warm with PLENTY of beverages and maybe a nice cool dipping sauce.

mms_picture (32)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Habanero Bombs

  1. amanda

    November 24, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    Looks good, but I can’t eat spicy!

    Like

     
  2. griffinsgrub

    January 6, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    I ONCE tried to make ABTs using some habaneros I grew. ONCE and only once.

    I’ve made something similar to your habanero bombs, but we used diced jalapenos mixed in with the cream cheese. Got it from a fellow blogger called NibbleMeThis. He calls them Sea Turtle Eggs. We just call them turtle eggs.

    Like

     
  3. griffinsgrub

    January 6, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    You are a braver man and more heat tolerant than me to use habaneros. I salute you.

    Like

     
    • mrdodd

      January 6, 2014 at 9:25 pm

      LoL, funny thing about that. Last spring my dad planted ghost and scorpion butch t peppers by mistake….. A BUNCH of them, along with habaneros. So not wanting to waste them I started gradually building my tolerance. I never got much paste the habaneros.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
