RSS

Hobo Dinners (aka FAMILY time)

18 Jan
Hobo Dinners (aka FAMILY time)

I had Sunday dinner all planned, I’d been mentally working on it since Thursday. I WAS excited, it WAS going to be great, and I WAS going to get a good blog post out of it. Then IT happened. IT as is often the case is my daughter. She wanted foil pack dinners, or what my family calls Hobo Dinners. The BBQ purist in me coiled in horrors. NO! This is NOT BBQ! If you’re going to take something and wrap it in foil, so it NEVER gets the hug of smoke, or the kiss of flame you may as well just toss it in the oven. Why waste perfectly good Kingsford? Why shovel the grills out of the snow?

Well, as I was mentally stomping around, and probably not so mentally brooding, the answer came to me…. FAMILY!!!  You see, I lost track of my number one motto when cooking, I let the hickory cloud my eyes, I put the food, the blog, and social media before my primary passion in cooking. WHAT YOU COOK IS NOT NEARLY AS IMPORTANT AS WHO YOU COOK IT WITH!!!!!  Take it heart folks, love what you do, and do what you love with who you love. Life is just better that way.

What you will need:

Family, friends, and loved ones

Heavy duty aluminum foil, the wider the better, about 3 feet per person. (get the good stuff for this)

1/4-1/2 lb of 80/20 ground beef (you know better who your feeding than I do)

2-3 medium potatoes per person cut into about 1/4 inch dice

1-2 lbs of baby carrots whole

1 lb of white button mushrooms thickly sliced

2 large onions coarsely chopped

Plenty of frozen corn

LOTS of your favorite BBQ sauce

Salt and Pepper to taste.

How we did it:

Begin by setting up you grill for Indirect cooking

While the coals are taking on life:

Place a sheet of foil with a portion of ground beef on the table for each person.

Now comes the fun part. Call the family in and let them elbow, and fight for the rights to the ingredients they want on their dinner, listen to them laugh as their carrots keep rolling off, watch them try to figure out how to fold their packets.

mms_picture (02)

Just toss it ALL on the foil each person seasoning and saucing to their taste.

mms_picture (03)

When it’s done simply fold it closed tight. If your working with small children you may want to step in at this point. Then if you want to avoid confusion and more debate when they’re done label each one. Let the small kids do this too. I remember some the wild ways mine would mark their’s.

mms_picture (04)

After your coals are ready place the packets on the grill as far from the coals as possible, rotate about every 15 minutes to keep from burning. When the potatoes and carrots are fork tender the meat will be done.

You can either eat them straight off the foil.

mms_picture (05)

Or plate and dress them up pretty.

mms_picture (07)

Now gather the family around, make a few memories, and have a little fun doing what you love with who you love. And don’t forget to laugh!!!

mms_picture (06) mms_picture (08) mms_picture (09)

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Hobo Dinners (aka FAMILY time)

  1. red1951

    January 20, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    Your Hobo Dinners sure do bring back memories. Probably been 50 years since I made my first one and learned to cook it in a camp fire. Then we taught our boys to make them when we would go fishing. Those were the days. Looks like you had fun.

    Thanks for the memories!

    Like

     
    • mrdodd

      January 20, 2014 at 6:28 pm

      I learned ’em from my dad, cooking them over an open fire, or tossing them in the fire place on cold winter nights. By the way, what do you call them down in your part of the woods?

      Like

       
      • red1951

        January 20, 2014 at 6:43 pm

        Hobo Dinners, lol. That’s all I’ve ever known them as.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
