RSS

mrdodd’s Ghost Pepper Hot sauce

09 Nov
mrdodd’s Ghost Pepper Hot sauce

 

wpid-cymera_20141022_191237.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The good Lord has blessed my dear dad with two things, great soil for growing hot peppers, and a desire to grow hot peppers. LOTS AND LOTS of hot peppers. Every year he plants tons of peppers, then when his crop comes in it’s always the same question. “Son, whatever in the world am I going to do with all these peppers?” At which I reply “Give ’em to me I’ll figure something out.” This year was no exception, as you can see in the picture above he didn’t let me down. The difference this year though was all he had was Ghost peppers and Trinidad Scorpion peppers. We’re looking at some REAL HEAT here people…… and lots and LOTS of peppers to do something with. So you’ll probably be seeing quite a few pepper recipes coming from here over the next few weeks.

First up is our hot sauce or AKA mrdodd’s Ghost Pepper Hot sauce. Let me say when I’m using peppers or hot sauce, I use the heat ONLY as a flavor/dish enhancer. I’m never looking for melt your face off heat. If a dish is too hot too enjoy then it’s really kind of pointless.

What to expect: Heat obviously. The ghost peppers give you a nice front of the tongue burn. By adding chipotles we get a nice hit of smoke, and the roasted red peppers will lend a deeper richer flavor. The cider vinegar offsets the richness to lighten the taste.

Yield: 3-4 cups of hot sauce.

*** CAUTION***

If you’re not use to handling hot peppers or have any doubts, wear gloves. These peppers are the real deal so handle with caution. As a side note if you wear gloves once you remove the gloves there is no fear of getting it in your eyes.

After handling the peppers I washed my hands, did dishes several times and hours later forgot and rubbed my eyes. In a word @#$%& it STUNG!

 

What you’ll need:

wpid-wp-1415558424585.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About an hour of time

3 red bell peppers

3 cloves garlic

5-6 ghost peppers (if you don’t have access to ghost peppers I’m sure habaneros will work)

2 chipotle peppers in adobo

1 1/2 Tbls of apple cider vinegar

Salt and pepper for seasoning

4 cups water

How we did it:

Begin by setting your grill up for DIRECT grilling.

Char red bell peppers on all sides until the peppers are soft and heavy.

wpid-wp-1415561586933.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once they’re done place in a bowl and set aside.

While the peppers cool roast your garlic until darkened and soft.

Slice your ghost peppers.

wpid-wp-1415568154652.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Place the ghost peppers in a ban with 2 cups of water and bring to boil.

Finley chop the roasted garlic and had to the pan with the ghost peppers.

Coarsely chop 2 chipotles and add to the water with 2 tsp of the adobo.

Remove skins from the roasted red peppers discard the seed pod reserve as much of the juices as possible. Coarsely tear the peppers and place in the water with the rest of the ingredients.

Cook until reduced by roughly 1/2.

wpid-wp-1415568067446.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Place into a blender and “liquefy.”

Add the remaining water.

Add the apple cider vinegar.

Mix well in blender.

Taste, adding salt and pepper, a little at a time. The sauce should be savory with high notes from the vinegar. You may have to add more vinegar, just play with it until you find the taste you like.

Bottle in bottles or jars that have been boiled.

Refrigerate.

Enjoy or unleash it upon your enemies.

wpid-wp-1415567995699.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remember what you cook isn’t nearly as important as who you cook it with.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “mrdodd’s Ghost Pepper Hot sauce

  1. morningstoryanddilbert

    November 9, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    I’m gonig to try this one…. I love a good hot sauce….. Hmmm, I bet it will be great on Turkey!!!!

    Take care and thanks for the recipe!!! 🙂 Kenny T

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • mrdodd

      November 9, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      Well it’s definitely hot. Hope you enjoy it.

      Like

       
  2. Patrons of the Pit

    November 10, 2014 at 11:01 am

    Mercy, that’s the stuff, Mr Dodd! I have never tried a ghost pepper, and frankly I think my inner Swede is afraid! But I do admire your pepper craft here, none the less. And I bit it’s tasty.

    Like

     
    • mrdodd

      November 10, 2014 at 11:04 am

      Tasty? Yeppers. As to the heat, it’s got a serious kick to it, but not over powering. There was A LOT of trepidation in the first taste to check for seasoning.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. David

    November 11, 2014 at 8:07 am

    Those are some beautiful bottles you have for your sauce. I would love to find some of those (and a bunch of peppers) around here!

    Like

     
    • mrdodd

      November 11, 2014 at 10:57 am

      LoL, I bought the bottles at Meyer $3.99 ea. Thanks.

      Like

       
  4. I 53:5 Project

    December 11, 2014 at 7:11 am

    This sounds great, I think I am going to give it a try.

    We love heat down here in Louisiana so I have a ton of uses for a good new sauce. I also grow peppers so I am always up for trying a new recipe.

    God bless,

    James

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
